top of page


Established in 1980 after the amalgamation of

Riverside Stars Football Club & Moonee Imperials Football Club

Club Colours: 

Red, royal blue & gold

Home Ground: 

Maribyrnong Park

Monk & Walsh Ovals 

40 The Boulevard, Moonee Ponds

Competition we participate in: 
Essendon District Football League 1980 to present



2013-Present Bill Shorten


2009-Present Judy Maddigan

Club Patron: 

2004 -Present Kevin Murray



Jim McAllister  (Footscray/Essendon)
Daryl Griffin  (Footscray)
Allen Nash  (Adelaide)
Lynden Dunn  (Melbourne/Collingwood)
Joel Smith  (Melbourne)
Rory Atkins  (Adelaide)
Touk Miller  (Gold Coast)
Luke Ryan  (Fremantle)
Brody Mihocek  (Collingwood)




Length 150 Meters, Width 115 meters Circumference 430 meters


Length 141 Meters, Width 105 meters Circumference 410 meters




Maribyrnong Park Football Club (MPFC) was formed in 1980 following the amalgamation of the Riverside Stars(est. 1947) and Moonee Imperials(est.1951) Football Clubs. These two clubs shared the clubrooms and two grounds for many years.

Amalgamation saw the emergence of a new team in the EDFL wearing the old Fitzroy Football Club jumper with the club gaining strength throughout the 1980’s and early 1990s under the watchful eye of ex-Fitzroy legend Kevin Murray, who coached the seniors from 1984 to 1986.

The senior success in the early years was limited to winning the 1981 B3 premiership, whilst the juniors successfully featured in finals in most years during the 1980’s and 1990’s. After numerous attempts to take the Senior Premiership Flag the MPFC Seniors finally came out on top in 2007 moving the club into the EDFL A Grade competition for the 2008 season. The Reserves also brought home the flag for the first time in 2006 then Premiers and Champions in 2007.

In 2009 Maribyrnong Park won the A Grade Grand Final beating Greenvale in just their 2nd A Grade Season, they followed that up in 2010 taking back to back premiership flags.

Maribyrnong Football Club Juniors have a successful history in the EDFL, having won Premierships in all age divisions and League Best & Fairest awards.

We are very proud of our junior premierships in the 80's & 90's with victories in Under 10’s in '85, ’88 and ’89; Under 12’s experienced success in '91, ’95 and ’96; Under 14’s in '84 and ’87; Under 16’s in '89.

Moderate junior success followed with the club required to concentrate its efforts on rebuilding its junior division after only fielding two junior sides in 2002.


This effort paid off with 7 sides competing in 2008 and winning 3 junior premierships - U10 Div 7, U12 Div 3 and U14 Div 3. In 2009 the results of the rebuilding were shown with nine teams competing (3 Under 10 and 12’s, 2 Under 14s and 1 Under 16).

Now with one of the largest clubs in the EDFL in 2023 the club is fielding:

5 Senior Men's teams (inc U18.5)

3 Senior Women's teams (inc U18.5)


22 junior teams from Under 8 to Under 16, this number includes 8 Girls teams - U8, U10, 2x U12, 2x U14 & 2x U16 teams, continuing to ensure Maribyrnong Park is an inclusive club open to all to participate and contribute to.

bottom of page